Chocolate Chip Biscoff Cookies

I came across the most interesting cookie recipe over on Top with Cinnamon.  Instead of the usual chocolate cookie technique, the recipe is made partly on the stove.  I just had to try it out and, of course, couldn’t follow the exact recipe without tweaking it.  These cookies were everything I’ve been looking for in a chocolate chip cookie.  They are chewy, dense, doughy, and a little crisp on the bottom.  I substituted Biscoff spread for almond butter and the results were delicious.

But wait! What did you say? What’s Biscoff spread??

Everyone needs to know about it.   There should be public service announcements and a national holiday for Biscoff spread.  It is the peanut butter of heaven, the Biscoff cookie in spreadable form.  Also known as Speculoos, or Trader Joe’s cookie spread.  You can find it in Wal-mart, World Market, Trader Joe’s, and on amazon, but it’s super overpriced over there.  Just so you know how serious I am about Biscoff spread – I gave everyone their own jar for Christmas.

chocolate chip biscoff cookies 

based on Top with Cinnamon’s recipe

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup raw sugar
  • 2-3 TBsp honey
  • 1 tbsp corn starch
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/3 cup biscoff spread
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Brown butter in a skillet.  Remove from the heat, then stir in the sugars, honey, and cornstarch.  Let it cool a bit then stir in the egg and yolk.  Put the pan back on the heat and cook for 3 minutes, stirring, on medium.  Remove from heat and then stir in Biscoff, vanilla, and salt.  Put into a mixing bowl and add the flour, oats, baking powder, and chocolate.  Throw it in the freezer for a few hours then bake at 325 degrees for around 8-10 minutes on parchment paper.  Take out when they’re still a bit doughy.

They disappeared within 24 hours at my apartment.  Either my roommates are severely underfed or these cookies are nothing short of amazing.

22 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Biscoff Cookies

  1. Why have I never heard of biscoff spread? Thanks for the headsup. I’m in the Mpls area, too, so will check out a local Wal-Mart. The cookies look amazing–great job with your photos. Glad you stopped by foodforfun for the sticky buns. Will top my next batch with biscoff:-)

      • I bought biscoff tonight!!!! How did I miss something like that? It’s marvelous–peanut butter made out of cookies! Thanks for stopping by–hope you continue to enjoy. I sometimes (not often w/little kids) get out to Mpls restaurants, etc. Let me know what you’ve found and enjoy foodwise. Will return to war and yeast for your biscoff cookie recipe:-)

      • I am a convert so am coming back for more on biscoff. How did you find out about this? How could it have been on the shelf of my local Wal-Mart (way cheaper than Amazon) all this time and I never knew of it? Thank you so much, hamster (do I call you hamster?) for leading me to biscoff. I bought 3 jars–2 crunchy and 1 creamy. Yum yum yum yum.

  2. Looks yummy!

    I’ve also found Biscoff spread at Woodman’s (in Wisconsin) and at Publix stores (mostly in the South). My husband has become a Biscoff spread fanatic, so I keep track of the sources!!

  3. Pingback: the evolving cookie | food for fun

      • Now I’m wondering if mine were drier because I left them in too long? I’m not good about getting things out of the oven in time. They were amazing just the same, but your cookies just look so ooey-gooey!

  4. A new biscoff spread recipe :-) I used chopped hazelnuts, cashews, and almonds. Resisted the urge to add chocolate as I wanted to try it as printed the first time. Coconut would be fun, too! Very rich and buttery. And with toasted oats and nuts, this one screams breakfast, yes?

  5. These look to die for! My husband found your choc chip biscoff cokie recipe online and is insisting I make them this weekend =) Thanks for sharing. Once I finish up with my “real job” of baking cakes, I’ll give this a shot. We both enjoy your blog!
    – Shannon @ Crumb Cake Creations

Leave a Reply

