A New Direction and Also – Samosas!

Due to a myriad of reasons all pointing to my health – some more recent than others – I have decided, out of necessity, to switch to an all-vegan diet.  I was terrified at first but now I’ve realized it’s not so bad.  It’s actually quite fun.  You have to be more imaginative when you can’t rely on cheese and eggs.  And so now War and Yeast will be chronicling my adventure through vegan-hood.  (Although I still have quite a few non-vegan recipe’s I’ve been hoarding that I’ll post in the future.)

My sister and I recently had an Indian food themed potluck, and this was my contribution.  Delicious as a snack, appetizer or a meal on their own, samosas are ridiculously tasty little bundles of happiness.  I just had to tinker with the recipe and discovered that tamarind pulp and Thai fish sauce really enhance the flavor of the samosa.  Many people like to make chutneys to dip their samosas in, but I think they’ve got plenty of flavor on their own.  I recommend making samosas when you’ve got a couple hours to spare.  It takes some time to get used to the whole wrapping process – don’t get too sad if the first few samosas fall apart in the frying process.

For the Dough:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp semolina flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 Tbsp oil
  • 1/3 cup lukewarm water
Mix the flours, salt, and oil together in a bowl with a fork, and slowly add the water.  Once it reaches a doughy, pliable consistency, knead on a clean countertop for 2-3 minutes until smooth.  Set aside in a covered plastic container and let rest for at least 20 minutes.

For the Filling:

  • 4 large boiled potatoes, chopped up in small to medium sized chunks
  • 1-2 large onions
  • 2 cloves garlic, smashed and chopped
  • 1-2 Tbsp freshly ground garam masala
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 2 chopped green chilies
  • 3/4 cup frozen green peas, blanched
  • 1 Tbsp tamarind pulp – mashed with 2 tbsp water in a bowl with a fork
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
  • thai vegetarian fish sauce to taste
  • chili powder to taste
  • oil as needed

Dice the onions and brown in a pan with the garlic and a small amount of oil.

In a large skillet (or pot) on medium heat, add two tablespoons of oil and the spices and chilis.   Add peas and potatoes and stir fry, adding water and oil as needed.  After a couple minutes, mix in the onions and garlic as well.  Let cook for an additional 3 or 4 minutes, then stir in the tamarind pulp, cilantro, and fish sauce until incorporated.  Remove from heat, and start building the samosas.

To Assemble:

Separate the dough into 6 or 7 separate balls.  Each of these should roll out to make 2 samosas.  Roll each ball out in a circle as thin as possible.  Cut the dough down the center, and begin assembly.  I am bad at explaining, so here’s Manjula doing her thing.  I eventually gave up on this magical cone shaped impossibility and started wrapping mine like burritos.  Whatever works for you.

Fill a pot with a couple inches of oil and heat to medium.  Drop in the samosas carefully, a few at a time, and cook until they are crispy and golden.

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “A New Direction and Also – Samosas!

  1. Good to have you back! Missed you:-) Anything that are “ridiculously tasty little bundles of happiness” are alright by me. Good luck on your new quest–you’ll do amazing things for sure.

  2. i pick up a bunch of samosas and take to friends places. they always save me from hunger pangs, esp since most of my friends are not vegan and usually do not have anything that i can eat!
    yours look fab., hope you are doing well.

  3. I love samosas. They are one of Baby Lady’s and my favorite foods although we don’t make them. We have a little Pakistani market nearby and them make them fresh daily. Absolutely delicious. I like your use of the tamarind in the filling.

Leave a Reply

