Sprouted Hummus Salad

ImageSo I’ve finally hopped on the sprouting train.  It’s pretty awesome.  I’d say my fave sprouts would have to be fenugreek and wheat berry so far.  I love just making my usual dishes with sprouted ingredients instead.  Sprouted almond and rice milk, sprouted hummus, sprouted tabouleh.  The list goes on and on.   But I really need to share this recipe for sprouted hummus with you guys.  It’s become my go-to salad dressing, and its a little different than your run-of-the-mill hummus.

Image

Sprouted Hummus

  • 1 1/2 cup sprouted chickpeas
  • 1/2 cup sprouted fava beans
  • 1/4 cup sprouted fenugreek seeds
  • 1 head roasted garlic
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup olive oil plus 1 Tablespoon
  • 2-3 Tablespoons tahini.
  • 1/2 Tablespoon crushed dried chili
  • Salt

Boil the sprouted chickpeas and fava beans for around 15 minutes.  Drain and allow to cool.  Throw in the food processor along with the fenugreek seeds, garlic, tahini, chili, and lemon juice.  Once well processed, pour in olive oil slowly while still processing.  Salt to taste.

Image

For the salad:

I don’t really think this needs a real recipe with exact measurements. I used blanched kale and sweet peas, sauteed onions, diced tomatoes, and a bunch of fenugreek sprouts.   Add chopped thai chilis if you want a kick.  Top with a generous helping of the sprouted hummus.

Image

Image

Where did that picture of Dexter with crazy eyes come from?

25 thoughts on “Sprouted Hummus Salad

    • I like the texture a little better for hummus, and I think the flavor is a bit less sprouty tasting. Sometimes I feel like that can get overpowering, but maybe I just have to get used to it!

  1. Ok so hear is a question have your heard of anyone having a milk increase (if breastfeeding)? fenugreek is use to boost supply but normally in the dried powdered form. I wander what the sprouted form would do….

Leave a Reply

